Scully Nicksa & Reeve, LLP | Attorneys At Law

79 Main Street | PO BOX 278
Unionville, CT  06085-0278

(860) 673-7141

Latest Firm News

5 Corners Farmington Update—Approved

September 28, 2017

Filed under:

The intersection known as 5 Corners in the East Farms section of Farmington is where Colt Highway (State Route 6), Birdseye Road (State Route 549) and Fienemann Road meet. Within a mile or so are two I-84 interchanges, 2 hotels, a large corporate office park, many medical office buildings and 2 apartment complexes.

Currently, the 5 Corners intersection is home to a gas station, fast food, office and automotive uses. Average daily traffic is close to 30,000 vehicles.

The only remaining vacant land at this intersection is the northeast corner, and it was zoned for single family residential use.

The longstanding owner of this property identified a need at this location, specifically a lack of restaurants to serve the large corporate employee and hotel guest population in the area.

In October of 2016 the Farmington Town Planning and Zoning Commission (TPZ) held a public hearing and then unanimously approved an amendment to the town wide Plan of Conservation and Development to allow limited commercial uses on the site.

In July of 2017 the TPZ conducted a public hearing and then approved a change of zone from Residential to Business, and a special permit for restaurant and retail uses. In its approval the TPZ asked the developer to work with the town’s Architectural Review Committee to refine the building architecture.

In September of 2017 the TPZ approved a site plan application for a building of just over 8,000 square feet with “traditional Farmington” architecture.

SNR represented the owner and developer before Farmington’s land use boards.

Previous article: Farmington Approves New Elderly Housing

Next article: Farmington Approves New Assisted Living Facility

The Law Offices of Scully, Nicksa & Reeve, LLP, located in the Unionville section of Farmington, CT represent clients throughout Connecticut, including Hartford, Avon, Bristol, Burlington, Canton, Farmington, New Britain, New Hartford, Newington, Simsbury, Torrington, Hartford County, Litchfield County and New Haven County.